Consumer Issues

August 9, 2009

Kudos to Championship Chess

I came across this chess program for teaching children the fundamentals for the game of chess and I must say I am really impressed.

Searching for a program to introduce my kindergartener to the game of chess, I found their website and decided to try their program.  I found their approach rather interesting and basic and thought it just might work.

At first, just because I didn’t know anyone who had used it before, I chose to buy their very basic product thinking to myself that if it didn’t work, I wouldn’t have invested too much in it. For $20 the basic product included the workbook – Color my world Chess (a coloring and sticker book with dot-to-dot exercises to help young children identify the chess pieces) as well as music CD which puts the moves of the pieces into a song so it is easy for the children to memorize.  Needless to say, even my two year old can identify all the pieces now.  I am really glad I tried this product out. 

I am so excited about it I have since ordered more of their workbooks.  All the workbooks can be purchased with companion DVDs.  Though I only bought a few of the DVDs, overall, I am impressed by the ease of use of these products as well as the simplicity with which it passes the message across to the children.   I have shown  the product to the some of the scholastic chess teachers at my children’s school as well and they have also found it impressive.

So here goes the Kudos to Championship Chess for a great product.

For more information, check out their website www.championshipchess.net for more information about their products.

1 Comment »

  1. This is a wonderful scheme. The world would be a better place in more ways than one if everyone played chess.

    Comment by swestland — December 12, 2009 @ 9:50 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.